9 Of The Best Arlo Security Cameras Reviews – A (2019) Buying Guide

arlo at your fingertips

Safety, security, peace of mind…That’s something we all want, right? And I agree — but that’s hard to come by, especially today when literally anyone can break into our homes with little effort.

Of course, like most people I know, I have a security system set up around my home.

And like you, dear reader, I searched online for the best-rated security cameras and accessories. I’ve read dozens of articles about them, and then I came across some Arlo wireless cameras reviews.

They didn’t convince me at first, but I decided to test the Arlo system myself. What did I have to lose, right?

The truth is, I actually liked the system so much that I now recommend it to everyone. Of course, Arlo security cameras are by no means perfect. However, they offer a lot that someone like me can like.

They’re state-of-the-art, easy to use and easy to install, not to mention that they give me that peace of mind I’ve needed for ages!

Table

9 Of the Best Arlo Camera Products – A Highlight Comparison

If You are looking for what Arlo Products You are Going to Purchase, Here is our short recommendation that will surely help you decide.

Product Name

Description

Check

Arlo Ultra - 4K UHD Wire-Free Security 2 Camera System | Indoor/Outdoor...

Arlo Ultra

with its 4p camera, Arlo Ultra offers the user high-quality videos and a long motion range, making it one of the first security cameras on the market to do so.

Check Price 

Arlo Audio Doorbell - Wire-free, Smart Home Security, Weather-resistant,...

Arlo Audio Doorbell

the Arlo Audio Doorbell notifies you when you have a visitor while you’re away. Its features allow you to let them know where you are and if you’ll be home soon or not.

Check Price 

Arlo Lights - Smart Home Security Light | Wireless, Weather Resistant,...

Arlo Security Light

this light works well with other Arlo cameras. When night vision isn’t enough, the Arlo Security Light offers a decent light source for a clearer picture.

Check Price 

Arlo - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Motion Detection | Night...

Arlo

the first of Arlo security products, this camera offers basic protection both outside and inside. It provides you with decent video quality and a standard motion range.

Check Price 

Arlo Pro - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Siren | Rechargeable,...

Arlo Pro

easy to install, wireless and with 720p video quality, the Arlo Pro will provide hours of clear footage and round-the-clock protection. Night vision and motion detection are also available.

Check Price 

Arlo Pro 2 - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Siren |...

Arlo Pro 2

when compared to its predecessor, the Arlo Pro 2 is an improvement across the board. It has better motion detection, 1080p resolution, and easy, wireless setup.

Check Price 

Arlo Go - Mobile HD Security Camera with Data Plan | LTE Connectivity,...

Arlo Go

with its LTE modem, the Arlo Go can literally “go” anywhere and still have a solid connection, not to mention that it also comes with a 1080p resolution and great motion detection.

Check Price 

Arlo Q Plus – Wired, 1080p HD Security Camera | Night vision, PoE/AC...

Arlo Q Plus

an indoor camera that’s powered over Ethernet, the Arlo Q Plus can capture movement flawlessly. It also doesn’t require a base hub to work. Just plug it in, and you’re good to go.

Check Price 

Arlo Baby Monitor | Smart WIFI Baby Camera 1080P HD with 2-Way Audio, Night...

Arlo Baby

an interesting fusion of home security and baby monitoring, the Arlo Baby will watch over a child during both day and night. It offers high-quality video and two-way voice communication.

Check Price 
Start Here:

So, This Is an Arlo Surveillance Camera Review, Then?

Arlo Camera Brand

This is some set of products of Arlo

Not really. It’s a review of nine – that’s right, nine – Arlo security products. And I won’t limit myself to only cameras, either. What we have here is a wide range of safety gadgets that might make our homes feel secure. I’ll provide a rundown on cameras, doorbells and safety lights, among other things.

Now, I should stress that I don’t personally own all of these products, but I know for a fact that they have hundreds of satisfied customers out there, some of whom are my personal friends. It’s not hard to guess who recommended Arlo to them, of course.

The How and Why of Arlo Gear

Most people that I talk to are looking for specific features their security system must have. Of course, I have to stress that this goes beyond Arlo as a brand. That’s why I always urge my readers to take everything into consideration.

“But wait,” I can hear someone say, “I’ve read an Arlo Pro security system review, and it told me the following.” Then they list a few things about it that tells them the product is absolutely the best. Or, alternatively, they use that as “proof” that people should avoid it.

Neither of these approaches considers the bigger picture. To put it more simply, they either rush to buy it without looking at all the specs or refuse to buy it because it might be missing that one key feature that they need.

So I think it’s only fair of me to list the features everyone ought to be looking for in safety products such as Arlo’s.

1. Endurance

My front porch is rather wide. I remember a few ding-dong ditchers when I was younger, and while it wasn’t dangerous, it was rather annoying. Naturally, I need an outdoor camera when something like that happens.

However, the area I live in has its fair share of windy and rainy weather. This alone can damage the camera or the doorbell. Of course, I don’t have to mention that the same goes for snow, hail, extreme heat and other weather phenomena.

Getting a durable safety system is very important. I know from experience that it’s smart to pay a little extra for a camera that won’t crack in the cold or that can resist rainwater. Otherwise, we spend a lot more on either repairs or replacement systems.

Arlo Endurance and Performance

Editor’s Note: Are You A Businessman? Or Do you have some security problems in your office? Check This Guide on the 5 Best Security Camera Systems for Small Business

2. Image Quality

This feature is specific to cameras. When somebody’s trying to break into my house, I  want to know who they are. Video footage can give me an idea if the burglar is a man or a woman or if he or she is tall, short, fat, or thin or any combination of these, etc. But I can’t know that with grainy or low-res videos.

Luckily, new security systems like Arlo offer users HQ video quality options. Of course, higher quality needs more storage space. In other words, I can have a clear picture, but it won’t record for a long time before there’s no space left to store the video.

Not to mention that some cameras have to run 24/7. HQ videos drain more power, while low-res videos help the cameras run longer than usual. This leads me to my next point…

Alro Camera Quality

A Camera Quality of Arlo

3. Power and Connectivity

Some cameras and safety equipment only work when we connect them to an outlet. However, Arlo and other companies offer cameras that work on batteries or are themselves rechargeable.

Both options have their disadvantages, of course. Plug-in cameras require an outlet, which means I have to install one outside. On the other hand, rechargeable cameras last as long as each charge. I have to either buy new batteries or recharge them on a daily basis.

In terms of connectivity, most cameras can sync up with our Wi-Fi. However, the router has to be within the range of security equipment. Not to mention that bad weather, power outages and Wi-Fi problems can cause the camera to stop working.

Arlo offers its users a cellular network connection, but it’s currently only available for AT&T enterprise clients. This allows them to view what’s going on with their house even if they’re far away. All they have to do is use their phone.

Alro Camera Power Cables

A USB Cable of Arlo

4. Smartphone Apps

While I’m on the subject of phones and Arlo security systems, I have to talk about security apps. Nearly every security system today offers the users smartphone apps. They help us out with settings and remote monitoring.

Both Android and iOS users can download the app, log in and save their Wi-Fi details. They can also do this on their desktop or laptop computers, which usually offer more settings.

I find the apps to be one of the most important features of modern security systems like Arlo. For example, I can see what’s happening at home while at work.

Moreover, if someone is trying to break in, the two-way talk system (which usually comes with doorbells) allows me to talk to them directly and startle them. Also, the app will record activity logs and notify me if there is a disturbance. On top of that, it offers night vision.

Alro Smart App

All Arlo Products Has its Dedicated Smartphone Application

5. Field of Vision

Arlo cameras, like all others, can’t record everything. Usually, they will just focus on one corner of the room or one patch of land outside.

When I was looking for security cameras, I came across certain models that offer 180° lens rotation. That would give me a clear enough picture of the yard in case something fishy is going on there.

Other camera models offer manual tilting and panning settings. In other words, I can literally fix my camera so that I can get a better view.

6. Storage

Security cameras record video, and that video has to be stored somewhere. Usually, it’s done locally on a MicroSD card or on cloud storage. Some security systems even offer both options.

Of course, companies that offer cloud storage for security videos tend to charge a monthly fee for it. Some offer it for free, but not all of them. Each subscription depends on how many days I want my camera to run uninterrupted.

And since we’re talking about money, I should address the final feature people ought to pay attention to when shopping for security systems like Arlo.

7.  The Cost

Obviously, I don’t want to be ripped off when I’m shopping for security systems. However, I also don’t want to buy one that’s cheap but performs poorly. After all, the safety of my house is at stake.

Based on many, many days of browsing retail websites, I learned that the average cost of a decent security system is somewhere between $$$ and $$$$.

Naturally, this doesn’t include the cost of cloud storage, batteries, and other expenses. I was able to find a few decent systems that go as low as $$ and even a few that go up to $$$. However, most of the ones on the market that have good user scores fall somewhere between the first two sums I mentioned.

Other Minor Features to Look For

Alro Smart Camera Features

Great Features by Arlo

I’m lumping all of these together because they aren’t as important as the ones I listed above. However, they can greatly improve the security systems we already have.

First off, there’s the design. While it’s cool to have a camera that looks nice, it’s far more important that it blends in with the environment. That’s why most security cameras are either all-black or all-white on the outside. It makes them easier to “disappear” against the backdrop of our house.

Next, there are systems that come with built-in sirens. I would recommend this option to anyone who wants a full-on security system — not just the camera and the smart doorbell. This feature allows the owner’s system to set off alarms when a burglary or something similar is happening.

Then there are different video options. For example, some cameras come with facial recognition software. Others allow owners to record a specific area of the house or even ignore it altogether.

Finally, there’s voice command compatibility. New security systems can work with software such as Alexa, Google Assistant, and Siri. More and more people rely on these today, and integrating them with our security systems just seems like the next logical step.

Recommended Related Buying Guide For Security Cameras5 of the Best Battery Powered Security Camera

back to menu ↑

Arlo Products – Before The List

Before I move onto the products, I do have to address one particular issue. Earlier, I noted that AT&T users are the only ones who can use Arlo’s cellular network. However, I should also mention the Arlo subscriptions. Each of them offers a different set of features, and The Ambient covers them in more detail.

First, there’s the Arlo Basic, which is free. It offers seven days of uninterrupted recording for up to five cameras. Then there are the Arlo Smart Premier and the Arlo Smart Elite. They have the same price per month but offer many different features. These include people detection, lock screen notifications, motion zones that the users can define, auto-responder alerts and many more playback days and GBs on its cloud. They also cover more than five cameras.

Of course, if their prices are too steep, I can always pay less for the Arlo Add-On option for every individual camera in my house. In other words, I can get any of the features listed above for any single Arlo camera that I use. It’s cheaper and does the job well.

Finally, there’s the price for using 24/7 live recording with the Arlo Q camera (more on that model later), which depends on how many days I want to use it.


1. Arlo Ultra

Arlo Ultra
High-Quality Video

What better way to start off a list of Arlo wireless cameras reviews than with the 4k HDR Arlo Ultra? Yes, this camera is one of the first on the market to actually offer video recording of this quality.

I was excited to hear about this because of a problem that nearly all security camera videos have. Sure, they capture the burglar trying to break in, but they’re too fuzzy to make out their face. An HQ camera gets that job done easily.

Extra Video Options

But Arlo Ultra offers more than just high-quality videos. It also provides night vision and a decent 180° view. In theory, nothing escapes this little gadget. And when I combine these two features with the 4k quality, I get clear images of my front yard 24/7.

Our Point of View

However, Arlo Ultra has its fair share of problems. I didn’t necessarily run into them myself, but enough people have, so much so that Arlo had to pull the cameras from regular retail to address the issues. For example, early adopters complained about live streaming in 4k.

I’ve heard people talk about how laggy it got after a while. Powerful security cameras don’t really help if they can’t live stream properly. In addition, I’ve also heard rants about the short battery life, or rather, shorter when compared to older Arlo products.

But by far the most common issues Arlo Ultra had were connectivity and hardware problems. The device would often register as “offline” when connected to a 5GHz base station. Moreover, people reported cameras showing purple-hued videos and constantly detecting motion, even when nothing was going on.

From what I can tell, these were all IR lens problems, and all of them required replacing the camera altogether.

Arlo Ultra - 4K UHD Wire-Free Security 2 Camera System | Indoor/Outdoor...
  • Wire-free and weather-resistant design, works with Alexa, and includes 1 year of Arlo Smart Premier service with rolling 30 day cloud recordings (up to 10 cameras).
  • 4K & HDR - Zoom in to see sharp details with Arlo Ultra's 4K & HDR advanced image quality technology
  • Enhanced night vision - See what's lurking with color night vision allowing you to see video in color rather than traditional black and white
  • Integrated spotlight - Light up the night and ward off unwelcome guests using Arlo Ultra's integrated spotlight
  • 180 degree diagonal field of view - See more with a wider angle lens that has auto image correction reducing the fish eye effect
  • Noise canceling technology - Listen and speak to visitors with crystal clear, full 2-way audio that reduces wind and noise
  • Auto zoom and tracking - Auto-focus on moving objects with clarity and detail
  • Custom activity zones - Create specific areas to monitor or ignore, so you only receive the notifications that matter
  • Ultra cameras require included Ultra SmartHub (VMB5000)

Last update on 2019-03-19 at 18:59 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


2. Arlo Audio Doorbell

Arlo Audio Doorbell

When I first heard of the term “smart doorbell,” I laughed. It seemed like such a ridiculous idea to me. But I am very glad I was wrong. After personally using this doorbell, I can say that it’s a splendid little gadget.

Durability

First off, it’s very durable. I’ve mentioned earlier that I often get wind and rain where I live. But that doesn’t seem to affect the Arlo audio doorbell one bit. It’s still working without any issues or outside damage.

Audio Messages

Then there are the other features. For example, this doorbell stores audio messages on the cloud. That’s right – people can ring my doorbell, leave a message for me while I’m gone, and I can listen to it when I come back. And how can my visitors record these messages? Well, all they have to do is press the bell one more time, and it will record what they want to say.

Now, the best thing about this bell, at least for me, is that it allows me to play pre-recorded messages to people. Once they ring, they can get a message saying “I’m not home” or “contact me again at 6 PM,” and so on. In fact, I can choose to ignore the bell completely, and it will let the visitor know I won’t be replying.

Our Point of View

But the Arlo Audio doorbell isn’t perfect. After all, the buyer has to already be an Arlo user, which is a bit exclusive in my opinion. Furthermore, the bell itself isn’t cheap, and it’s just one of several Arlo products that I need to use. Finally, the doorbell won’t store messages on the cloud if I use more than five Arlo cameras.

Sale
Arlo Audio Doorbell - Wire-free, Smart Home Security, Weather-resistant,...
233 Reviews
Arlo Audio Doorbell - Wire-free, Smart Home Security, Weather-resistant,...
  • Doorbell notifications - Get calls on your smartphone or tablet when someone presses your Arlo Doorbell
  • Remote communication - Talk with visitors from your smartphone or tablet
  • Visitor messaging - Visitors can leave a message for you to listen remotely at your convenience
  • Wire-free and weather-resistant design - Place your doorbell anywhere outside of your home with no wiring hassle
  • Works with your existing chime - Set up your doorbell in minutes with Arlo's simple wire-free design
  • Requires existing Arlo Base Station
  • Requires existing Arlo Base Station to use an Arlo Audio Doorbell or Arlo Chime.Not compatible with Arlo Go, Arlo Q, or Arlo Baby cameras

Last update on 2019-03-19 at 09:50 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


3. Arlo Security Light

Arlo Security Light

Not all cameras come with night vision mode. Because of this, I tend to keep my yard well lit. Usually, a decent outdoor light helps, but Arlo thought one step ahead and created their own “smart” light — one that works well with other Arlo products.

And yes, I know that buying a “smart light” sounds unnecessary. But before I move onto the Arlo Pro security system review (which is coming right up), I think it’s important to discuss the peripheral devices, not just the cameras. After all, having good lighting that works with the security system is always a plus.

Wireless Light

So, what does Arlo Security Light have to offer? Well, to start off, it’s completely wireless. Just like all other Arlo products, it requires a simple installation. In addition, I get a durable light with motion sensors. But that’s not all! I can even set the sensitivity of the light, how long it will be on and what color it will be.

Compatibility

In terms of working with other Arlo products, it performs really well. Each of the different light colors allows the Arlo cameras to record the yard better. I find this to be very useful because it means buyers don’t really have to get an expensive 4k video quality Arlo Ultra camera. They can just get an older Arlo model and this light for clear and decent night images.

Our Point of View

One flaw I kept hearing from Arlo Security Light users is that it’s not bright enough. Personally, I don’t see that as a serious issue, but if a brighter Arlo product can stop more burglars, I’m all for it. The security light also uses its own wireless bridge for the Wi-Fi router. That’s slightly annoying since so many other Arlo products come with separate bridges.

Sale
Arlo Lights - Smart Home Security Light | Wireless, Weather Resistant,...
279 Reviews
Arlo Lights - Smart Home Security Light | Wireless, Weather Resistant,...
  • Security Light only. Arlo camera NOT included**
  • 100% Wire-Free: free of power cords and wiring hassles.Bridge (indoor use only)

Last update on 2019-03-19 at 18:59 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


4. Arlo

Arlo

Of course, we have to start somewhere. And any list of Arlo wireless cameras reviews wouldn’t be complete without the original. With a simple name, Arlo took the market by storm, introducing many different features when it came to home security.

Basic Features

However, this is me comparing an older Arlo product with newer ones. On its own, it’s still a decent camera. First of all, it’s wireless, which means I can literally put it anywhere I want.

And since it has that typical Arlo durability, it works well outside. The video quality, even though it’s low, is more than enough to give me a clear picture. And if I can’t catch everything with one Arlo camera, I’ll do it with two, or five, or ten.

Connectivity with Other Arlo Products

The single best feature the basic Arlo camera has is that it can sync up perfectly with other cameras. In other words, my app works fine with it. I can set it up, look at the footage, save it on cloud or MicroSD and still enjoy my peace of mind.

Not to mention that I can save money by buying several basic Arlo cameras instead of investing in a more expensive product. And saving money can be just as important as keeping my home safe.

Our Point of View

Arlo is by no means a perfect product. It doesn’t stream in high definition, for instance, nor can it cover a very wide area with its lens. Also, when I make a basic comparison with other cameras that will follow on this list, it just doesn’t perform as well. The battery life is short, the picture quality subpar, and it isn’t as durable as those that came after it, not to mention that it reports false “low battery” alerts during snowy or cold weather.

Sale
Arlo - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Motion Detection | Night...
16,729 Reviews
Arlo - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Motion Detection | Night...
  • Works with Alexa for voice control (Alexa device sold separately); Audio not supported
  • Patented 100% Wire-Free design for easy placement anywhere
  • Night vision cameras work even in the dark. Wireless range - 300+ feet line of sight
  • Motion activated cameras w/ Email or App notifications- Records and alerts only when motion is detected with 7 days of free rolling cloud storage
  • Indoor/outdoor weather-resistant cameras. Battery life: 4 to 6 months, battery - lithium
  • This is the standard Arlo camera, and the Arlo Pro is a separate product. Operating temperature 0° to 50° C
  • Works with Amazon Alexa/Echo Show/Fire TV/Google Assistant - View your live video with a simple voice command. Works with IFTTT, Samsung SmartThings, and more
  • Arlo Smart adds powerful intelligence to your Arlo cameras. Customize alerts to detect people, specific zones, and contact emergency responders right from your smartphone's lock screen (optional...
  • 8 Digital Zoom

Last update on 2019-03-19 at 18:59 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


5. Arlo Pro

Arlo Pro

We all knew the Pros were coming! At some point, everyone runs into an Arlo Pro security system review, and they all tend to contain words of praise. But I’m not here to talk about other reviews.

I’m here to let my reader know if Arlo Pro is worth the buzz it’s getting. Naturally, Arlo Pro 2 will follow in the subsection below.

Installing and Performance

Arlo Pro has everything I expect a good Arlo camera to have. It’s very easy to install, and it’s wireless. Setting it up the first time literally took me minutes. Once I installed it, I checked the app and gave it a go. It worked like a charm.

Video Quality

Let’s talk about the video quality of Arlo Pro. Some folks I know don’t like that it only records in 720p quality. Personally, I don’t mind this resolution, but if I had to point out a flaw that Arlo Pro might have, it would be that. Of course, a combination of Arlo Pro and Arlo Security Light would fix that problem, but that would cost extra.

Our Point of View

This is where we get to the actual flaws of this camera. Arlo Pro is pricey; If I want an option to “recognize” people, cars, and animals, I need a subscription fee. I’ve listed these fees earlier, and they are quite high.

Another potential flaw is that the app acts out when there’s little to no signal. That makes the camera all but useless.

Finally, I’ve heard people complain about it being “loose,” and I can agree. The Arlo Pro can be very easily removed from its mount, which means it can easily be knocked down by wind or animals.

Sale
Arlo Pro - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Siren | Rechargeable,...
13,934 Reviews
Arlo Pro - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Siren | Rechargeable,...
  • Works with Alexa for voice control (Alexa device sold separately).
  • 100% Wire-free - Free of power cords and wiring hassles
  • Weather-resistant - Arlo Pro cameras are Weather-resistant so you can place them anywhere-indoors and out
  • Rechargeable Batteries - Arlo Pro cameras include rechargeable batteries that support fast charging.Focus range (ST)
  • Fixed focus (2 ft to infinity)
  • 2-Way Audio - Built-in mic and speaker enable push-to-talk capability, so you can listen in and talk back
  • 7 Days of Free Cloud Recordings - Arlo Pro comes with rolling 7-day cloud recordings. Live stream or view recorded video and audio for up to 7 days
  • Works with Amazon Alexa/Echo Show/Fire TV/Google Assistant - View your live video with a simple voice command. Works with IFTTT, Samsung SmartThings, and more.Operating temperature:32° to 122° F...
  • Arlo Smart adds powerful intelligence to your Arlo cameras. Customize alerts to detect people, specific zones, and contact emergency responders right from your smartphone's lock screen (optional...

Last update on 2019-03-19 at 17:49 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


6.  Arlo Pro 2

Arlo Pro 2

As a fan of Arlo Pro, I simply had to get Arlo Pro 2. I have to stress — it does offer a lot more than its predecessor, and if any reader likes the sound of Arlo Pro – they might just love this one too.

Video Quality

Much like with Arlo Ultra, the people over at Arlo listen to their users when it comes to asking for improvements. That’s why the camera of Arlo Pro 2 now records in 1080p. And while I personally had no problem with 720p quality, I can appreciate the change.

Subscription Perks

What I found to be the best feature of Arlo Pro 2 is that the subscription fee actually helps improve the camera’s performance. I got to mark several activity zones around my yard, and now my camera only notifies me if a man or animal approaches. No more useless alerts over nothing!  Not to mention that a single fee covers many cameras at once.

Longevity

By far the best feature is how long the batteries last. A single charge took three and a half months to drain. However, I’ve even heard of cases when the camera kept going for twice as long.

Our Point of View

Now, in terms of flaws, two that irritated me the most were the poor night vision and fogging lenses. Arlo Pro 2 records very dark videos during the night, which is why something like the Arlo Security light would be useful.

But fogging lenses annoyed me a bit more. During the rainy season, I had to clean the lenses of my two Arlo Pro 2 cameras nearly every day. The rain didn’t damage them, of course. I just wasn’t able to see anything with the liquid in the way.

Sale
Arlo Pro 2 - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Siren |...
3,296 Reviews
Arlo Pro 2 - Wireless Home Security Camera System with Siren |...
  • Works with Alexa for voice control (Alexa device sold separately)
  • 100% Wireless Camera - Free of power cords and wiring hassles. Operating temperature 32 degree to 122 degree Fahrenheit
  • 1080p HD Wireless security camera system with night vision - High quality video with sharper and brighter details. Night Vision turns on automatically in low light so you can see clearly, even in the...
  • Flexible Powering Options - Use wire-free, plugged in. Rechargeable battery. Night vision : 850 nm LEDs: illuminates up to 25 feet. IR cut-off filter
  • Weather-resistant - Arlo Pro cameras are weather-resistant so you can place them indoor or outdoor.Video Capture Resolution : Configurable up to 1280 x 720
  • 7 Days of Free Cloud Recordings - Arlo Pro comes with recurring 7-day free cloud recordings. Live stream or view recorded video and audio for up to 7 days
  • Works with Amazon Alexa/Echo Show/Fire TV/Google Assistant - View your live video with a simple voice command. Works with IFTTT, Samsung SmartThings, and more
  • Arlo Smart adds powerful intelligence to your Arlo cameras. Customize alerts to detect people, specific zones, and contact emergency responders right from your smartphone's lock screen (optional...
  • NOTE : Kindly refer the Installation Manual [pdf ] , Other Content [pdf ], User Manual which is available below

Last update on 2019-03-19 at 17:29 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


7. Arlo Go

Arlo Go

How do we up the ante after Arlo Pro and Pro 2? Which Arlo surveillance camera review will tell us that there’s a better option? Well, Arlo Go seems to be the answer to both of those questions.

Features Similar to Other Arlo Products

Arlo Go is both different from other Arlo cameras, yet similar to them in different aspects. For example, it is also wireless, sports the same pure-white design, and it’s durable in harsh weather. Not to mention that it can also store data onto a MicroSD card.

Individual Connectivity Options

So what makes it different? The first thing is that it’s a lot more “mobile” than its older cousins. It features its own LTE modem, which means I no longer need to keep the camera within the range of my own modem or an Arlo Wi-Fi bridge.

This is a spectacular change. As all Wi-Fi owners, I had connection trouble, so this special little camera modem is almost a godsend.

Our Point of View

However, Arlo Go’s new features come at a cost. At a literal cost, I mean. Each plan involving Arlo Go is very expensive; a lot more than the plans involving older Arlo cameras.

But to make matters worse, Arlo Go isn’t compatible with older cameras. It only works on LTE, so it won’t connect to the Arlo Hub all other cameras use.

Another common Arlo Go issue is how clunky the app is. It often freezes and has more than a few bugs in its programming. From what I understand, even some Arlo Pro users had these issues. But with Arlo Go being this expensive, a broken app feels like an insult.

Sale
Arlo Go - Mobile HD Security Camera with Data Plan | LTE Connectivity,...
211 Reviews
Arlo Go - Mobile HD Security Camera with Data Plan | LTE Connectivity,...
  • Works with Alexa for voice control (Alexa device sold separately).
  • 100% Wire-free - Lets you discreetly place cameras indoors or outdoors
  • Untethered mobile security- Supports 3G and 4G-LTE wireless connections
  • Night Vision- Enhanced night vision capability lets you see clearly even in the dark
  • Weather-resistant - Place them anywhere-indoors or out
  • Local video and audio storage- Built-in SD card slot allows for local backup storage in the event of Internet interruption
  • 2-way audio - Push-to-talk capability, so you can listen in and talk back
  • Free cloud recordings- Rolling 7-day free cloud recordings
  • Arlo Smart adds powerful intelligence to your Arlo cameras. Customize alerts to detect people, specific zones, and contact emergency responders right from your smartphone's lock screen (optional...
  • 720p resolution

Last update on 2019-03-19 at 18:59 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


8. Arlo Q Plus

Arlo Q Plus

From wireless to wired, from anywhere to indoor only, the Arlo Q Plus seems like a setback. However, it has its own share of good features. But the question is — why am I talking about Arlo Q Plus and not about its predecessor, the Arlo Q?

Comparing Arlo Q Plus and Arlo Q

The answer is simple. Unlike Arlo Pro and Arlo Pro 2, these two cameras are almost identical. In other words, Arlo Q Plus is really Arlo Q with some added features. For example, both are indoor cameras, and both are single-user.

These would be two of their major flaws in my opinion. However, Arlo Q Plus has two features that Arlo Q doesn’t. The first of those two is Power over Ethernet or PoE. The second is using MicroSD cards for local video storage.

So why would anyone buy an indoor Arlo camera? Aren’t they famous for their wireless products?

Video Quality

To start off, this camera has 1080p resolution. Recording indoors in high quality is always a plus. Next, it has internal storage and links directly to a power source. That means I don’t have to worry about its battery life.

Finally, it doesn’t need a base station or an entire security system to work. I think that’s perfect for people who aren’t Arlo system users.

Other Video Features

Naturally, there are other decent features, such as the pan and zoom option and night vision. It also has great motion detection, though it can’t differentiate between a human and an animal.

Sale
Arlo Q Plus – Wired, 1080p HD Security Camera | Night vision, PoE/AC...
5,240 Reviews
Arlo Q Plus – Wired, 1080p HD Security Camera | Night vision, PoE/AC...
  • Works with Alexa for voice control (Alexa device sold separately).
  • 1080p HD resolution- Live stream sharp HD resolution from anywhere using your smartphone, tablet, or computer
  • Enhanced night vision capability lets you see clearly even in total darkness; Wide angle 130° lens makes sure you will see and get alerted whenever something moves or makes a sound.
  • Flexible setup options w/ local storage- Connect the camera with WiFi, Ethernet, or PoE and use local recording in case of Internet interruptions
  • 2-Way Audio - Built-in mic and speaker enable push-to-talk capability, so you can listen in and talk back
  • 7 Days of Free Cloud Recordings - Arlo Pro comes with rolling 7-day cloud recordings. Live stream or view recorded video and audio for up to 7 days
  • Works with Amazon Alexa/Echo Show/Fire TV/Google Assistant - View your live video with a simple voice command. Works with IFTTT, Samsung SmartThings, and more
  • Arlo Smart adds powerful intelligence to your Arlo cameras. Customize alerts to detect people, specific zones, and contact emergency responders right from your smartphone's lock screen (optional...

Last update on 2019-03-19 at 18:59 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


9. Arlo Baby

Arlo Baby

I’m not a parent myself, but I understand the need for a good baby monitor. Nobody needs safety more than our young ones, after all. But I know a lot of moms and dads, a few of who use Arlo products regularly. Based on what they have told me, I would definitely buy Arlo Baby if I had a child.

Design

One look at Arlo Baby is enough to warm the heart. It looks like a little futuristic bunny. With its soft, round shape and contours, it won’t frighten the baby when we put it in its room.

But more importantly, it’s wireless, so it can literally go anywhere. Parents often have to rearrange the baby room as it is, so a mobile wireless monitor is great.

Video Quality and Motion Detection

But this monitor is powerful. It has a 1080p HQ camera complete with night vision. Any baby will be safe as this little guy is monitoring them at night. Moreover, it comes with motion detection, so if anything strange is happening, the parents will know about it within seconds.

Sound Options

The Arlo Baby comes with two-way sound communication, as well as a white noise option. This feature can help the baby fall asleep faster.

Our Point of View

But it’s not all good. Arlo Baby’s app tends to lag, as parents report a five-second delay between launching the app and notifications. In addition, this baby monitor is quite expensive.

I know for a fact there are ordinary baby monitors out there that cost two-thirds less than Arlo Baby. And since they’re doing a fine job, why would parents spend that much money on a rabbit camera?

Sale
Arlo Baby Monitor | Smart WIFI Baby Camera 1080P HD with 2-Way Audio, Night...
788 Reviews
Arlo Baby Monitor | Smart WIFI Baby Camera 1080P HD with 2-Way Audio, Night...
  • 1080p HD Video Quality - View live or recorded videos in excellent detail and rich color, from anywhere in the world
  • 2-Way Wireless Talk - Comfort and talk to your baby from anywhere, whether you're at the office or in the living room
  • Advanced Night Vision - Near-invisible infrared LEDs let you see your baby clearly even in total darkness; Night vision- 940nm LED: illuminates up to 15 feet
  • Instant Smart Alerts - Get motion, sound, and air quality notifications sent to your smartphone. Adjustable motion detection up to 50 feet. Wireless range 300 feet line of sight
  • Smart Nursery Features - Multi-colored night light, lullaby player, temperature, humidity & VOC air sensors. Monitor and control all features anytime from your smart phone
  • Works with Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Assistant, IFTTT - View your live video with a simple voice command and easily integrate Arlo Baby into your smart home

Last update on 2019-03-18 at 18:40 / Affiliate links / Ratings / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Fact Check

back to menu ↑

Common Arlo Products Questions

Before I move on to the final verdict, I should address a couple of common Arlo-related questions. When I was first researching security systems, I noticed that most Arlo security cameras reviews didn’t have this FAQ section.

Therefore, I think it’s important to add it here so that my readers can get to “know” the product a bit more before deciding to buy it.

1. How Do Arlo Cameras Work?

Each user gets an Arlo base station that acts as a hub for all other cameras. Most of the products connect via Wi-Fi as well as a special app.

2. What Is Arlo Geofencing?

Arlo Geofencing is an option that allows the user to set up the cameras to work a certain way while they’re not at home.

3. What Is Arlo Camera’s Motion Detection Range?

This range indicates how far and wide the Arlo camera can spot movement. Usually, it’s around 60° or 130°.

4. What Is Arlo’s Night Vision Distance?

It’s the distance an Arlo camera can capture during the night. In most conditions, the distance is about 18 ft. However, in optimal conditions, it can go up to 35 ft. It all depends on the angle and the position of the camera.

5. What Is the Resolution of Arlo Cameras?

The standard is 720p, but most new models go up to 1080p. Arlo Ultra even went beyond that.

6. Do Arlo Products Record Sound?

The Arlo Security light is the only Arlo product that doesn’t record sound. The rest all do.

7. Why Is My Arlo Camera Blinking Orange?

Orange or amber blinks can signal different issues. If it blinks slowly, the battery is low. Rapid blinking means that the camera isn’t in sync with the base station.

Both blue and amber blinking means the camera is undergoing a firmware update. When this happens, the user must NOT turn the camera off.

8. What Is the Best Arlo Motion Sensitivity Setting?

It’s best to keep the sensitivity at 100% and then reduce it by one or two percent after unwanted movement. That way, we get the optimal setting that works for us.

back to menu ↑

What Do Arlo Products Have in Common?

I’ll be the first to say that not all products have the same features. With Arlo, it’s best to say that “most products have most of the same features.” For example, other than Arlo Q and Arlo Q Plus, nearly every other Arlo product is wireless. In addition, the two Arlo Qs are also indoor-only, unlike other cameras on this list.

Next, aside from Arlo Security Light, all other products record sound. And if I were to focus only on cameras, I’d say that they all offer standard video quality, other than Ultra, which tried to give us more.

And finally, nearly all of these products work while linked to a base hub. The wired Arlo products obviously don’t, nor does the Arlo Go.

back to menu ↑

Comparing the Products: Which Arlo Won?

Obviously, I can’t compare a camera to a doorbell or a baby monitor. It’s like comparing apples and oranges. So, I’ll go over which product is the best for individual situations, and then focus on which product I’d recommend to everyone.

First, let’s get the non-cameras out of the way. The Arlo Security Doorbell is an amazing tool for anyone who’s away. It is effectively the next “evolutionary step” in doorbell technology. Plus, it can really help users out in certain situations. If a mailman were to drop a package, I could tell him where to put it even if I’m not at the door.

Next, there’s the Arlo Security Light. By itself, it’s not much more than a simple light source. But it works very well with more basic Arlo cameras, such as the original Arlo and the Arlo Pro.

Last but not least is the Arlo Baby. It’s a great solution for parents, and it will provide the babies with stellar protection.

But what about the cameras? Well, I’ll just announce the winner and explain my reasoning below.

Editor’s Note: Looking for an Outdoor Security Camera that is Related to Arlo? Here is Our 8 Best Outdoor WiFi Security Cameras That You Can Check

back to menu ↑

Conclusion

The Arlo Pro 2 fulfills nearly all requirements a great security product needs. First of all, it has a high-quality camera that captures clear videos. That puts it well beyond Arlo and Arlo Pro, which are both solid choices for more “casual” users.

Of course, Arlo Go and Arlo Ultra have better cameras, but each of these has other issues to deal with. Arlo Ultra had to be recalled because of its bugs. Arlo Go, on the other hand, is more expensive and doesn’t sync up with the base hub like others.

Of course, I don’t have to stress that neither of the two Arlo Q cameras can be set up outside. By that merit alone, Arlo Pro 2 beats them. But it also has other features that make it stand out.

A long battery life, decent storage and a wide motion range all give Arlo Pro 2 the edge over the competition. And yes, there are problems with fogging and lighting, but these are not that important. All we have to do is get a good light source and wipe the lens every now and again during the rain.

  • Readers Rating
  • Rated 5 stars
    5 / 5 (2 )
  • Your Rating